Lamborghini takes pole in Navarra

The Reiter Lamborghini No.25 of Ricardo Zonta and Frank Kechele secured pole position for tomorrow's Qualifying Race.

The duo produced a best lap time of 1:36.118. Second was the Triple H Hegersport Maserati No.34 of Alessandro Pier Guidi and Nico Verdonck with a 1:36.329. Third was the Matech Ford GT No.6 of Neel Jani and Nicolas Amindo with 1:36.407.

There were some big name casualties. The championship leaders Michael Bartels and Andrea Bertolini in the Vitaphone Maserati No.1 failed to make the cut for the top eight shoot-out in Q3 as did the Matech Ford GT of Thomas Mutsch and Richard Westbrook.

The Nissan GT-R No.23 of Peter Dumbreck and Michael Krumm, the Qualifying Race winners at Portimao did not progress beyond Q1 and will start 17th tomorrow.